James Primosch

James Primosch

James Primosch

(This composer has multiple commissions - click here to view all)

Title: Sacra Conversazione
Commission: 1991
Completed: 1993" src="/profiles/openscholar/modules/contrib/wysiwyg/plugins/break/images/spacer.gif" title="<--break-->">
Instrumentation: Flute, Clarinet, Violin, Cello, Piano, Percussion, and Tape
Premiere Location: Merkin Hall, New York, NY
Premiere Ensemble: New York New Music Ensemble

Title: A Sibyl
Commission: 2016
Completed: 2017
Instrumentation: for soprano and ensemble
Premiere Location: Cambridge, MA
Premiere Ensemble: Collage New Music

Born in Cleveland, Ohio in 1956, James Primosch studied at Cleveland State University, the University of Pennsylvania, and Columbia University; his principal teachers were Mario Davidovsky, George Crumb, and Richard Wernick. Ensembles performing Primosch’s music include the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra, Collage, the New York New Music Ensemble, and the 21st Century Consort. Commissioned works have been premiered by the Chicago Symphony, Speculum Musicae, and the Cantata Singers. Additional commissions have been awarded by the Koussevitzky and Fromm Foundations, and the Barlow Endowment, Awards include grants from the National Endowment for the Arts, a Guggenheim Fellowship, three prizes from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Stoeger Prize of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, and a fellowship to the Tanglewood Music Center, where he studied with John Harbison. Since 1988 he has served on the faculty of the University of Pennsylvania.



Commission Date

Completion Date